Apple of the Eye

“Keep me as the apple of the eye.  Hide me in the shadow of thy wings”  Proverbs 17:8 NASB

This verse has nothing to do with fruit!  Apple of the eye referred to the pupil of your eye.  What do you do if there is danger of someone or something poking you in the eye.  Our most basic instinct of self-preservation kicks in and we guard our eye.  This verse is a prayer of protection to God.  Please protect my most tender and vulnerable parts by hiding me in the shadow of your wings.  When my family has needed protection, I’ve used this as a prayer for them.  It has worked.   I’ve prayed it when I was scared and needy.  What a perfect picture of protection, hiding behind God’s wings like a little child hides behinds its mother.

In some cultures wearing jewelry with the all-seeing-eye is popular.  I’ve never been sure of the meaning of that symbolism.  Maybe God sees all?  (He does). Maybe God is everywhere?  (He is).  Maybe to remind us he will protect us as the apple of the eye?  (He will).

Lord keep me as the apple of the eye.  I will bless your holy name forever

 

One thought on “Apple of the Eye

Leave a Reply

